“Their story didn’t start this year…or even this millenium.”

At the base of Mount Sinai back in the times of Moses, the 12 tribes of Israel grew tired of waiting and worshipped a golden calf instead.  When Moses returned with the Ten Commandments, many of these people were killed instantly, while others were just sentenced to never enter the Promised Land.  However, forty people (including some young children) were given a much worse fate: to roam the earth forever as immortals, with no chance of ever entering Heaven.

These forty people banded together and called themselves the 13th Tribe, and they decided that they would try to earn their way into Heaven… by killing sinners.

Fast forward to modern day and enter Jagger Baird, a former Army Ranger who lost his arm in a tragic car accident that claimed the lives of his closest friends.  Hired as head of security for an archeological dig at the base of Mount Sinai, he hoped that this time would help to bring him closer to his wife, Beth, and son, Tyler, as well as help him get over his anger at God.

Instead of the mundane repetitiveness that Jagger thought security at a dig would be, he encountered members of the 13th Tribe, who by now had been trying to earn their way into Heaven for the last 3500 years.  The Tribe is now poised to execute their most ambitious plan ever, and millions of innocent lives hang in the balance.  When Beth and Tyler are caught in the cross fire, Jagger will stop at nothing to save them.  With the help of newfound friends, he’ll embark on a global journey, but the real question is… how can one man stop a tribe of immortals?

This book was an edge of your seat thriller and Robert Liparulo once again delivered.  In the vein of Ted Dekker and Frank Peretti, Liparulo created a believable novel that will keep you guessing from page one.  Masterfully weaved throughout the story, Liparulo also showed that you can’t actually earn your way into Heaven, like the Tribe had been trying to do.  Theology didn’t have a HUGE part in the novel, but it gave enough information to show that no matter how long you study theology, and no matter just how knowledgable you are, it’s the simplest beliefs that are the hardest to digest.

Overall, this book was an amazing read and I hope that there are more books to come from the Immortal Files.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255